Spend Your Money/Save Your Money Movie Review: The Avengers

Holy guacamole it’s been a long time! I’m sorry everyone…honestly, there haven’t really been any movies that have drawn me out recently…this was the first movie I’d seen since The Hunger Games! *gasp* Anyway…the hubs saw this at the midnight premiere…then again the next night…then Saturday night I finally got to go. We still ended up having to wait in line for this movie for over an hour…ridiculous! Did anyone else have this kind of experience?

Let me preface this review by sharing with you my background with The Avengers. I had previously seen both Iron Mans (Iron Men?) and Captain America. I did not see Thor…the beginning was way too boring and I bailed. I knew nothing about Hawkeye…my impression of him was that he looked super lame from the previews… I have also never seen either Hulk movies. I was still able to very much enjoy this movie…namely cuz I love Tony Stark and his snarky comments :)

Questions…ASSEMBLE!

“What is the movie about?” – An agency called SHIELD has control of an energy source called the tesseract.This gets stolen by a god named Loki…the brother of Thor, who wants to use the tesseract to open a portal and take over the world (naturally). Nick Fury assembles a team of superheroes to try and save the world!

“Is this movie part of a series?” – Well, technically. Iron Man, Iron Man 2, Thor and Captain America all led up to this movie. And judging by the way the movie is performing, there will be definitely be more! Yesssssss! 

“Do I have to watch the other movies in order to “get” this movie?” –  I’m gonna say no…I think anyone will enjoy this movie. Now, if you’ve watched the other movies, you will get more OUT of it…you’ll get more of the story line and who the characters are…but I do think that someone can go in blind and still enjoy it. 

 

“Wait, don’t I know that actor from somewhere?” – Cobie Smulders from my favorite show How I Met Your Mother is Maria Hill…and I was wondering where scientist Erik was from until I remembered him from Mamma Mia and The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo.

“Anything I should know going in?” – There are two clips at the end…one in the middle of the credits and one at the very end. The one in the middle will only make sense to you if you know your comics…I had to ask the hubby what was going on. The end one is super cute, but not really necessary to stay for :)

“Anything that annoyed the heck out of you?” – I’m sorry but Black Widow (Scarlett Johansson) just seems so LAME compared to the others with their super powers…there’s one scene where they are “assembled” and they’re all displaying their powers and she’s…loading a gun. *sigh*

The movie was so good. It was long (142 min) but I didn’t even realize it…I was laughing and enjoying myself the entire time. This is how movies are supposed to be!

Spend or Save? Without a doubt, spend. You will laugh (Iron Man is hilarious, as usual, but The Hulk! Hysterical!) and you will be fully engaged, especially at the end. Even Hawkeye does cool things, towards the end. Go ahead, spend your money…you will not be disappointed!

About Holly B


One response to “Spend Your Money/Save Your Money Movie Review: The Avengers

  • comicsagogo

    Amen on the humor. Without it the 142 minutes would have been overwhelming. The scene where Hulk throws Loki around like a rag doll is so funny the audience was still laughing well into the next scene.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

