Spend Your Money/Save Your Money Movie Review: The Hunger Games

Miss me guys? To be honest, there really haven’t been any movies I’ve wanted to spend my money on…so I’ve been absent for a little bit…but I’m back! I have been waiting for this movie for a long time and after reading the book for the fourth time, the hubs and I headed to wait in line for the midnight premiere.

I loved this book. I had VERY high expectations for this movie…especially after watching the trailers…I will say that Jennifer Lawrence was great as Katniss…which is huge. As for the rest of the movie, well…read on

Question time!

“What is the movie about?” – In the not too distant future somewhere in time and space, the country of Panem is divided into 12 districts and a Capitol. As punishment for rebelling years ago, each district has to send one girl and one boy between the ages of 12-18 to participate in The Hunger Games. These participants are called tributes.  The Hunger Games pits each child against each other in an arena where the children have to survive and kill each other. The last tribute standing is the winner and they, as well as their home district, will be given food and money. Katniss’ little sister, Prim, is selected as tribute and Katniss volunteers to take her place in the games. The rest of the story details the process of getting to the games and how the tributes fare throughout.

“Is this movie part of a series?” – They have already started pre-production on the next movie. Keeping up with the recent Hollywood trend, this three book series will be divided into four movies, splitting the final book into two movies…which, in my opinion, is unnecessary, but they didn’t ask me. The remaining books in the series are Catching Fire and Mockingjay.

“Does it stay true to the book?” –  In a way, yes. It follows many of the parts of the books…much better than epic movie-adaption failures like Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief (still super angry about that one), but one of my biggest pet peeves is when Hollywood feels the need to ADD things to a movie that were not in the book. For example, in the movie, President Snow (the president of Panem) and Seneca Crane (the head Gamemaker) are in this movie throughout and are pinpointing Katniss as enemy number one, targeting her specifically in the games with events meant to kill her. This SO is not how it went down in the book, and I feel like it cheapened the games themselves…they are terrible on their own, they didn’t need an evil president behind the scenes making it worse by having him focus on one possibly rebellious girl. I have more rants about this, but to keep from posting spoilers for those who haven’t read the book, I’m gonna put my grievances in a separate post. Being a book purist as well as a movie freak is a hard life.

“Wait, don’t I know that actor from somewhere?” – Beyond the obvious faces of Stanley Tucci from movies like The Devil Wears Prada, Elizabeth Banks from 40-Year-Old Virgin, Woody Harrelson from Zombieland and Jennifer Lawrence from X-Men: First Class, a few other actors might jog your memory. Seneca Crane is played by Wes Bentley, who was the bad guy from P2. Peeta is played by Josh Hutcherson from The Kids are All Right and Gale is played by Liam Hemsworth (Thor’s little brother), probably best known right now as Miley Cyrus’ boyfriend.

“Anything I should know going in?” – I think that the violence is pretty toned down…the book has a lot of killing scenes and there’s probably 3-4 that I can remember from the movie…I also think the violence is hidden enough that younger kiddos might not even notice it. Also, if you are a person who gets motion-sickness, this movie is filmed with a little of a documentary feeling to it, so in the arena you’ll experience some bumpy camera shots. There were two times my husband had to look down for a few minutes to feel better.

“Anything that annoyed the heck out of you?” – Again, I have a few things I need to rant about, but I’ll do it in another post. There were no blatant accent problems here, so that was good cuz I sure was listening closely to Gale to see if the Aussie slipped out.

The movie was good. It was. I wish they hadn’t added the things they added, and there were some people, events that I really missed (Madge? Where are you?) but it was interesting and engaging and fun to watch.

Spend or Save? Absolutely a spend. This is gonna be a huge movie franchise, so might as well jump on board now…it’s a very interesting and different story and Catching Fire will be a great movie too, so I’m looking forward to where they take the series. My advice? If you haven’t read the book by now, go to the movie first. Watch it, enjoy it. THEN, get the book and read it. You’ll see what I mean. Happy Hunger Games!

About Holly B


Leave a Reply

